Leave this site

National Freephone Helpline

Safe Browsing

Keep your visit private while you are on the site

If you are concerned that someone else may come into the room while you are visiting this site, and you do not want them to see what you are looking at, you can click the green banner at the top of every page ‘Leave This Site’. This will change the browser window to Google. You may want to think now of what you will type into Google if you need to exit quickly.

You might want to close the browser completely instead. You can do this by either clicking on the browser window’s close button or through the following keyboard commands:

Windows: ‘ALT’ key and ‘F4’
Apple Macintosh: ‘Apple’ key and ‘W’

You could also have something else open (maybe another website, or a word processing document) so that if needed you can just quickly close this website and have something else open on your desktop.

Keep your visit private once you have finished

To protect your safety and privacy you can clear your Internet history after visiting our site. While browsing the internet, information about all the sites that you visited is stored on your computer: websites you visited, every search string you entered in search engines (Google, Yahoo, MSN), and information you entered on websites and more. By reading the below links, you can delete this information from your computer by following the steps described in the links below.

Please note: By other means, it may still be possible for someone to work out which sites you have visited. If safety is a priority we recommend that it is safest to access this site from a safe place; such as a library, Internet cafe or a friend’s house.

Click on the name of your browser and it will open up a new window with the instructions on it.

It is important to say that there is a risk involved in deleting all history and clearing all cookies from your computer.  It is possible that other users of the computer will be able to tell that you have done this, because addresses will no longer appear and passwords might be lost. To avoid this, it is best to only clear specific items from the history – the sites you want to hide – or to clear the most recent history rather than clearing all. Most browsers allow you to do this.

Keep your visit private before you start

Users of recent versions of most browsers can use Private Browsing settings. This is a window that will not record any of your internet activity, meaning you don’t have to clear your browser history. If you set this up next time before you come to Rape Crisis, your computer will not record where you have been. Click on the name of your browser and it will open up a new window with the instructions on it.

Support Documents

Click here to view our support documents. Each document is available as a PDF download.

Safe Browsing

Your privacy is important to us. Click here to learn ways to hide your visit to the Rape Crisis web site.

Twitter Feed